Home » Book Reviews » The Power of Habit: Why We Do What We Do in Life and Business

The Power of Habit: Why We Do What We Do in Life and Business

The Power of Habit: Why We Do What We Do in Life and Business, by Charles Duhigg, has changed the way I think about my unconscious actions. No longer do I feel anchored to my habits, and I had some big ones; anxiety, depression, rage, and a host of other annoying tics that I felt were so ingrained in my psyche that I was doomed to a life of self-imposed misery.

Now don’t get me wrong, it wasn’t the book alone, I’ve been blessed to have a network of great healing friends and family that want me to be happy, and that is more than many people can dream of asking for. And I’ve been plodding (blindly at times I have to admit) down the path of mindfulness for some time now, reading books on alternative medicine, meditation, and the like.

But for the beginner, a person who may not even see their behaviors as habits, this book could be instrumental. It’s primarily a series of examples that illustrate human behavior at the micro and macro level. Be warned however, these are sometimes graphic illustrations as not everything we do as humans is pretty. It also includes a couple of exercises to try (only a few however, this is really a learn by example book).

For myself, I not only gleaned examples of how to reduce anxiety (that are still working even after I finished the book), but I also picked out some gems of organizational habits (as in businesses) that have been instrumental in my development of a solid business plan for current entrepreneurial endeavors. Hands down one of the best books on how to improve your life I have come across. A must read for those looking to be a saner and/or happier person and/or do better in business. Pick up a copy at Cloud and Leaf Bookstore.

